ý

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 66723251a3c15_UCSD-JacobsSchool-20230621-WangEdward-lab-07293-ee-8MP.jpg

The five types of sleep and what they can tell you about your health

Your sleep tracker might give you information about more than just your sleep–specifically, it might give you information about chronic conditions such as diabetes and sleep apnea, and illnesses such as COVID-19. This is one of the findings of a...
19-Jun-2024 7:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6671ff0f8fccf_UCSD-JacobsSchool-2111-DayehLabneurointerf-06870-Full.jpg

Breakthrough UC San Diego Brain Recording Device Receives FDA Approval for a Clinical Trial

The Federal Drug Administration approved a clinical trial to test the effectiveness of an electronic grid that records brain activity during surgery, developed by engineers at the University of California San Diego.
19-Jun-2024 7:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Is Coffee Good for You or Bad for You?

The effects of coffee consumption on human health is a knotty question, but one thing is sure: coffee is a psychoactive substance.
18-Jun-2024 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6670748724b6f_neurolead-1200x628px.jpg

A New Approach to Neuroimaging Analysis

A new method for neuroimaging analysis is shown to work with small groups of participants, opening the door for many studies that don't have access to massive sets of brain images.
17-Jun-2024 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 66704b22f38a0_BCO-banner.VT.jpg

Embryonic Brain Overgrowth Dictates Autism Severity, New Research Suggests

Researchers at UC San Diego found an unusually large brain may be the first sign of autism and visible as early as the first trimester.
17-Jun-2024 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 666f926cc826c_iStock-18246736511.jpg

Study Reveals Increasing Polarization in Climate Change Coverage Between Elite and Heartland News Sources

New research led by the University of California San Diego School of Global Policy and Strategy reveals a crucial disparity in how climate change is reported across different types of news outlets and locations.
16-Jun-2024 9:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Japan’s 2024 Kyoto Prizes Honor John Pendry of Imperial College London, Paul F. Hoffman, University of Victoria, and William Forsythe, an International Ballet Choreographer

The Inamori Foundation today announced the latest laureates of its Kyoto Prize, Japan’s highest private award for global achievement, in the categories of Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy. Complete details are online: ...
14-Jun-2024 10:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 666a2c15a6090_nano-checkerboard-SEM.png

Nanosized blocks spontaneously assemble in water to create tiny floating checkerboards

Researchers have engineered nanosized cubes that spontaneously form a two-dimensional checkerboard pattern when dropped on the surface of water. The work, published in Nature Communications, presents a simple approach to create complex...
13-Jun-2024 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 63f7b16ba78d0_iStock-8887296221.jpg

UC San Diego Expert on Violence Assesses Police Brutality and Mass Shootings in America

Tage Rai is a psychologist and assistant professor of management at UC San Diego’s Rady School of Management who studies ethics and violence. He co-authored the book "Virtuous Violence" outlining research which finds that most acts of violence are...
23-Feb-2023 2:15 PM EST

Your Questions, Answered: Examining Mistrust and Vaccines

On Feb. 22, the University of California San Diego brought together a panel of industry experts and esteemed faculty to kick off the university’s “Evenings of Nonconventional Wisdom” online event series hosted in celebration of the...
19-Mar-2021 5:20 PM EDT

Wildfire Experts


11-Sep-2020 4:05 PM EDT

Does Remote Instruction Make Cheating Easier?

Today, colleges across the nation are making critical decisions for the coming academic year. For some, all courses will be online; for others, the decision may be to have some classes offered in person, and the rest conducted in remote or hybrid...
14-Jul-2020 7:35 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Experts

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Ana Amado-Garcia
Marketing Manager
Rady School of Management

ana.amado@rady.ucsd.edu

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Sarah Bjorkman
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
Health Sciences

sbjorkman@UCSD.EDU

Kimberly Bruch
Science Writer

kbruch@ucsd.edu

858.336.0053

Christine Clark
Director of Communications, Rady School of Management & School of Global Policy and Strategy
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Tyler DeLong
Communications Specialist
Health

ttdelong@health.ucsd.edu

Cynthia Dillon
Director of External Relations
San Diego Supercomputer Center

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-6673

Michelle Franklin
Director of Communications, Physical Sciences
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-246-5695

Yadira Galindo
Director of Communications

y2galindo@ucsd.edu

April Green
Communications Manager
Library

atgreen@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Jade Griffin
Director, Advancement Public Relations

jadegriffin@UCSD.EDU

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Cindy Mam
Communications Media Specialist
Health Sciences

cmam@ucsd.edu

Miles Martin
Sr. Comm and Media
Health Sciences

milesmartin@health.ucsd.edu

8585340360

Monica May
Asst. Director
Health Sciences

m3may@ucsd.edu

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Matt Nagel
Senior Executive Director of Public Relations

mnagel@ucsd.edu

858-761-4410

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Cheryl Robinson
Director of Special Projects

cprobinson@ucsd.edu

Amanda Rubalcava
Content Strategist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Leslie Sepuka
Associate Director
Strategic Marketing Communications

lsepuka@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Kellie Woodhouse
Executive Director, Research Communications
Research

kwoodhouse@ucsd.edu

858-534-1842

Ian Wright
Communications Coordinator

iwright@ucsd.edu

0015-858-246-5677

Twitter

Facebook

close
2.11572